Uncategorized

Not all who wander are lost

Like I said my journey didn’t just start jet, I “travel” a bit around since a while, but it was more a short trip, like a weekend away in Europe. Nothing wrong with that I would say. So that you get to know me a bit better I would like to share a few thoughts about a few important steps that brought me where I am today.

I was always fascinated by this sentence “Not all who wander are lost” and I could identify very strongly with it.

Maybe I need to explain a bit more how I understand this quote. I am not someone who actually loves wandering with hiking boots and all that stuff, I do it from time to time but that’s not the reason why I can identify with this quote.

In my understanding this is related to your mind, the mind that wanders. I can for sure say I wandered a lot, like miles over miles, I would have holes in my shoes would I have walked. But as the mind is a fascinating thing it never gets tired of wandering. It keeps going and it can drive you crazy with its restlessness. In all fairness, I am not always appreciating my wandering mind, not at all, how often do I try to calm it with meditation and yoga. More than often without an actual success but I keep on trying.

But this is not what I mean when I speak about a wandering mind, I don’t mean the worries or negative thoughts what I mean is the big things, the questions that arise when you leave your “box” for the first time. The ‘why’s?’ and the more important “why not’s?” There is a whole new world that opens to your mind as soon as you leave your routine and your day-to-day duties behind.

I first experienced this while I was studying and in some sociology seminar we spoke about modern concepts of relationship and family and it was like someone opened the door. The door of known role models of family like we know it and asked questions about the why and why not different? This “cracked” my box. Since then I like to think about things from different perspectives when I can and try to see the “other side”. As much as I enjoy this way of thinking and I would love to see more people to leave their comfortable little boxes, as much is it a travel in unknown terrain into uncertainty.

I know how challenging it is to have an eager mind, and how frustrating it can feel when you don’t see the way. When it feels as you are just moving around without a plan or a purpose.

But I love this quote for what it implements, even if your mind in all his glory and eagerness haven’t figured out a “way” for you to go, you are on the way! You move, you grow. That’s why I love Tolkien as his stories are inspiring and make your mind wander. Or with Tolkiens words:

“It’s a dangerous business to step out of your door, you step onto the road and if you don’t keep your feet there’s no telling where you might be swept off to”

I hope I will see you soon and don’t forget

“think a happy thought”

 

Leave a comment